Asheboro Reckless Driving Defense Legal Defense for Reckless Driving Asheboro Traffic Violations
In Asheboro, North Carolina, a person can be convicted of "reckless driving" for driving on a public roadway:
- Carelessly and heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others," or
- "Without due caution and circumspection and at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property."
Basically, in Asheboro and Randolph county North Carolina's reckless driving law requires motorists to drive in a reasonably safe manner at all times.
In deciding whether a person's driving in Asheboro qualifies as "reckless," a judge might look to factors like:
- Road and weather conditions
- Whether the driver was paying attention (negligence), and
- The driver's speed.
But the facts of each case are different. So, whether a particular course of driving meets the legal definition of "reckless" will always depend on the particular circumstances. That's why we recommend a quality Asheboro, NC reckless driving attorney. Click here to see a list of qualified reckless driving attorneys in Asheboro, NC.
Reckless Driving Penalties
Reckless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor in North Carolina. The maximum fine for a class 2 misdemeanor is $1,000. Convicted drivers also face up to 30 days in jail for a first offense. And if the driver has prior criminal convictions, as much as 60 days in jail is possible.
A reckless driving conviction leads to license suspension only in certain circumstances. These include offenses where the person:
- Was going more than 15 miles per hour over the speed limit and over 55 miles per hour
- Was driving more than 80 miles per hour, or
- Has at least one prior conviction that occurred within the past 12 months.
All reckless driving violations will add four points to the motorists driving record, and most likely, increase the motorist's insurance rates.
Contact one of our featured attorneys today to assist you with your reckless driving matter.